The use and development of modern technologies in Life Sciences have become essential to human life. "Biotechnology" represents a vast variety of processes, products and methods. Therefore, the complexity and interdisciplinarity of this research field require a high level of expertise, a close link between different research areas and a continuous and careful transfer of technology-know-how about the new developments in technology.

The motivation of the workshop "Molecular Interactions" is to give young scientists - students, graduate students, young postdocs - insight into the latest trends, technologies and analytical approaches in biotechnology, to inspire them and to mediate contacts with experts from universities, research institutions and companies in Germany and Europe.

The 8th Workshop of "Molecular Interactions" in Berlin is focussed on the theme "From Molecules to Product Innovation". Due to the growing number of national and international participants from Germany and beyond, the biotechnology science field was extended by Systems and Synthetic Biology. Renowned scientists from Germany and Europe will report and discuss about the latest developments in their research field.

The scientific presentations will be complemented by a session about career development, where young scientists are introduced to different scientific careers and developmental oppurtunities. Representatives from different carrer paths will present their various fields of work and answer questions from the audience.


Alexander Kühn (DE), Alacris Theranostics GmbH
Andreas Ziegler (DE)
Andreas Brödel (DE), Fraunhofer Institute for Biomedical Engineering
Andreas Dahl (DE), University of Dresden
Daniela Dieterich (DE)
Enno Klussmann (DE)
Frank Sellrie (DE)
Friedrich W. Herberg (DE), University of Kassel
Jason Chin Group (UK)
Jens Kurreck (DE)
Katja Köhler (DE), Fraunhofer Institute for Biomedical Engineering
Malte Buchholz (DE)
Markus Ralser (UK)
Marlitt Stech (DE), Fraunhofer Institute for Biomedical Engineering
Michael Famulok (DE)
Michael Gerrits (DE)
Nediljko Budisa (DE)
Ola Söderberg (SE), Uppsala University
Olfert Landt (DE), TIBMolBiol GmbH
Soeren Schumacher (D), Fraunhofer Institute for Biomedical Engineering
Stefan Dübel (DE)
Sven Panke (CH)
Thomas Schirrmann (DE)
Hannes Link (CH)
Victor de Lorenzo (ES)
Vitor A.P. Martins dos Santos (NL), Wageningen University
Zoya Ignatova (DE), University of Potsdam


Welcome Adress: Prof. Heinz Riesenhuber (Honorary Professor at the University Frankfurt, 1982-1993 German Minister for Science and Technology)

Plenary Lecture: Prof. D. Söll (Yale University): "The continued evolution of the genetic code"